11.16.2009

I was going to continue posting the emails that I got from the phishing scam I mentioned here. I have only gotten one after the two I had posted and haven’t gotten any since Saturday.

Good luck everyone, there are jobs out there (I hope). More importantly, there are individuals looking to cash in on our misfortune so please be careful.

11.11.2009

And Another One…

by Galen Hale

I suppose it is they who will get the last laugh. I just got this email about another job I need to apply to. I guess I need to be ready for daily fake job offers now that someone has my email address. This one is from Juliet.Smith@rendmarketing.com. Apparently they never looked at my resume because if they did they would know that I work with computers and am savvy to this kind of crap.

Since everyone found my last post so helpful, I’ll post this one too. Keep your spirits up and keep looking, there are jobs out there, somewhere.

Hello Galen,

I would like to personally thank you for your interest in our company; we were very pleased to read your email.
As an office administrator, you will commonly deal with clients and staff on a person to person basis. As such, one first step of the application process is to complete a short online personality and skills test on our website.

Please take a few moments to complete our questions on our site http://www.ryendmarketing.com/recruitment-test. Your results will be stored under your profile, tracking is handled automatically by our link. We will review your results and contact you if we have decided to move further.

Thank you again for your interest,

Juliet Smith
Rend Marketing
Hiring Associate

Rend Marketing and Fled Consulting, hmm, I wonder if the company names will ever get longer than 4 letters.

I have been looking for a “real” job for the better part of 6 months and as everyone is aware, there aren’t any. To make the situation worse, there are jobs that I applied for that turned out to be nothing but phishing scams.

I can’t think of anything worse than having no job AND bad credit. Here is a copy of the email I received:

Hello,

Thank you for your interest in our job position. I am Alex Rurstu and I am a Senior Hiring Representative for FLED Consulting. I would like to thank you for your response to our ads. We were very impressed by your credentials. Yours was actually one of the most impressive resumes I saw from the hundreds I read.

That being said, we would like to move forward in your job proposition. The position pays $20/hour starting, with a lot of room for growing. Compared to similar positions in this area, we are paying a very high starting salary for new employees, so I’m sure you will have a fantastic time working with us.

We would like to schedule an interview with you, and discuss what your job would specifically be in our company. Take note that we require all potential employees have a credit report performed prior to their interview. We require as credit check to ensure we are receiving top notch professionals as we take everything into consideration for hiring purposes. In addition, you will most likely be in contact with sensitive financial documents therefore it is imperative we ensure all of our employees are fiscally responsible. We can only schedule a telephone consultation once you confirm you have one (for your safety please do not E-mail it to us).

You may either use your own accredited credit report company, or use one that we recommend. This company provides reports free of charge unlike most others which charge a fee. If you are interested in using the one I mentioned, then please proceed here.

Once you receive your credit report, please email us back confirming. We will spend an additional 5 business days reviewing your resume again, at which point we will contact you if we have decided to move forward.

Thank you for your time, and congratulations on becoming a possible candidate for our company.

Alex Rurstu
Human Resources
FLED Consulting

They couldn’t even bother to use my name in the salutation; amateurs. At any rate, the email address this came from is Alex.Rurstu@fledconsulting.com. Can someone give me a physical address for FLED Consulting?